top of page
Search

5 Takeaways I learned in my first semester of DGK

By: Janelle Ward


Joining DiGamma Kappa has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my freshman year! I’ve learned so much and can’t wait to expand my learning even more as I grow in the society. I’ve listed five takeaways that stuck with me the most during my first semester.


Journalism can take you absolutely anywhere.


Throughout the semester, we’ve heard from a variety of speakers all from miscellaneous backgrounds and positions in the field. For instance, Sonam Vashi, CNN reporter turned freelance journalist, Nick Valencia, border correspondent for CNN and Brad Nessler, legendary CBS sportscaster! There are so many different things you can do in the journalism world! It’s not hard finding an aspect you’re interested in.


An extensive resume and LinkedIn profile are the keys to internships and jobs after graduation.


More recent Grady graduates emphasized the importance of having a detailed and professional resume and LinkedIn profile. The giant media corporations like CNN, ABC and NBC are in constant search for new talent, and these are the first things they check for. We learned many tips on our trip to New York City from Grady graduate Kevin Schatell, who now works for NBC studios.


Starting from the bottom is almost necessary.


Almost all journalists start off with a job they dislike. Sometimes, a job at the bottom of the rankings is all you can land right after graduation, but that first job and how you do it sets the tone for the rest of your career.


Journalism is a dangerous profession.


Nick Valencia from CNN dedicated his speech at our fall banquet to showing the uglier side of journalism as a career and his encounters at the border of the U.S. and Mexico. I never thought about how journalists’ lives are constantly in danger for striving to tell the truth. His speech allowed me to view journalism from a different perspective.


The connections you make and the experiences you have are worthwhile.


The journalists I’ve had the pleasure of meeting all had one thing in common: they all loved people. They find solace in talking to others, hearing their stories and sharing them with the public. While you’re paid in money, you’re also paid in the experiences and the memories you make along the way.


20 views0 comments
bottom of page